Why I hope to Die at 75

Before reading this article, and just reading the title, I thought this guy would be crazy. Why would anyone want to set a limit on how long their life is. Then he started to put the words on the screen. We all envision a life of no complications or sicknesses. We all want to live the longest and healthiest life we can possibly have. Emanuel in this writing, expresses that all in all, he wants to go out on a high note. He wants to live the longest he can, at the best he can. He would rather die a few years early very healthy, compared to being sick for 10 years suffering but living until he is 90. You work up your whole life to develop a reputation, and he doesn’t want that to go to waste. He stresses that he wants to be remembered as the great man he was as  he states “We are no longer remembered as vibrant and engaged but as feeble, ineffectual, even pathetic”. This is a great point, but very controversial. I think we all can struggle with the concept, and I like the two numbers 75 and 90. I have to ask myself this question; would I rather live to 75 with no problems, or 90 with complications for the last 10-15 years of my life. This debate I believe comes to more tuition as one progresses in life, but its not an awful idea to think about this concept. He later states “Let me be clear about my wish. I’m neither asking for more time than is likely nor foreshortening my life” the guy doesn’t wish to die early, and he makes this clear throughout, he just wants to die happy. I personally want to live as long as I can, see and experience as many things as I can, but the right way.

Leave a Reply

